SharePoint App Permissions and Your Data

When SharePoint Apps (Add-ins) are installed to SharePoint, the App requests certain permissions in order to operate correctly. The permissions requested by FollowCol Dashboard differ slightly for FollowCol Dashboard (SharePoint Tenant) and FollowCol Dashboard (SharePoint Site). Below explains the differences and also explains how FollowCol Dashboard works with your data.

FollowCol Dashboard (SharePoint Tenant)

As depicted below FollowCol Dashboard (SharePoint Tenant) requests permission to read/query sites, lists, and libraries from all site collections (in the SharePoint tenant). The App does not add, modify, or delete any user data in those site collections. This FollowCol Dashboard uses "tenant read" permissions to allow you to find and follow any lists/columns across all sites for which you have access.

The App also requests to read/query basic user information which is used identify the current user and save FollowCols and User Options for each user. The App does not add, modify, or delete any user information.

The App also requests to execute search queries on the user's behalf which is used by the Add FollowCol Find List tab to search for sites and subsites in the SharePoint tenant. FollowCol does not use search for any other purpose.

FollowCol Dashboard (SharePoint Site)

As depicted below FollowCol Dashboard (SharePoint Site) requests permission to read lists and libraries in the current site and also in subsites. The App does not add, modify, or delete any user data in the site. This FollowCol Dashboard uses "site collection read" permissions to allow you to find and follow any lists/columns in the current site and subsites where FollowCol Dashboard is installed. With this level of permission FollowCol Dashboard (SharePoint Site) is limited to the current site and cannot search the tenant/SharePoint farm to find and follow lists/columns from other sites.

The App also requests to read/query basic user information which is used identify the current user and save FollowCols and User Options for each user. The App does not add, modify, or delete any user information.

   

Your Data

FollowCol Dashboard saves user data (FollowCols and User Options) within the SharePoint environment where FollowCol Dashboard is installed. This location is generally hidden but known to administrators for backup purposes. FollowCol Dashboard does not store any user data externally to SharePoint.

For more information on data privacy refer to Privacy Policy.